A film by Mia Donovan

Written and Directed by

Mia Donovan

Produced by
Bob Moore

Executive Producers
Mila Aung-Thwin
Daniel Cross

Director of Photography
Mia Donovan
Nathan Truesdell

Hannele Halm

Additional Editing by
Omar Majeed
Ryan Mullins

Original music by
Ramachandra Borcar

Featuring (in order of appearance)
Matthew Robinson
Ted Patrick
Aaron Christ
Steven Capellini
Dr. Stephen A. Kent
Flo Conway and Jim Siegelman
Gene Griessman, Ph.D (Interviewer)
Cheryl Prokosh
Kathleen Crampton
Rick Alan Ross
Dr. Dan Eyink
Sondra Sacks
Ruth Patrick

Produced with the financial participation of


Bell Fund



Canadian Heritage

Produced in association with

Super Channel

Produced with the assistance of the
National Film Board of Canada – Filmmaker Assistance Program


With the support of


Line Producer
Valerie Shamash

Rights Supervisor
Edmund Duff

Production Manager
Daniela Flori

Production Secretary
Marina Serrao

Location Sound Recording
Mia Donovan
Thomas Corkran

Story Editor
Bob Moore

Sound Editor
Kyle Stanfield

Re-Recording Mixer
Cory Rizos, CAS

Additional Dialogue Editing
Cory Rizos, CAS

Mia Donovan

Post Production Supervisor
Victor Sandrasagra

Post Production Services

Charles Boileau
Assistant Editors
Stephanie Vaillancourt
Guillaume Pelletier

Annie Dionne
Anne-Marie Bousquet

Online Editor
Guillaume Pelletier

Title Graphic
Raed Moussa

Research Assistant
Kristian Klippenstein

Distribution and Marketing
Damien Detcheberry

Anuj Khosla

Kristi Kouchakji

Thomas Pietrzykowski, HHL

Remy Khouzam, Lussier & Khouzam
Dean Chenoy, Miller Thompson

Insurance provided by Globalex/Front Row Insurance

Financial Services Provided by Banque Nationale

Original Music by Ramachandra Borcar

Ramachandra Borcar – bowed cymbals, omnichord, synthesizers, percussion
Sheila Hannigan – cello
Francois Pilon – violin
Jonathan Cummins – electric guitar
Richard White – acoustic guitar

Recorded by Rod Shearer @ Studio Mixart
Mixed by Rod Shearer @ La Villa Medusa Studios
Surround mix by Charles-Émile Beaudin @ Studio Piccolo
Music production assistant – Vanessa Pfeiffer

“Jesus is Just Alright”
Written by Arthur S. Reynolds
Performed by Rev. Milton Brunson and the Thompson Community Singers
Published by Music Sales Corp c/o Peer Music, Universal Music Publishing
Courtesy of Sonorous Entertainment LLC

“Great Shakening”
Performed by Kris Miller
Songs from the Amen song book
Published by Kris Miller Music
Courtesy of Kris Miller

“Light of the Son”
Performed by Catherine Broadhurst
Songs from the Amen song book
Published by Kris Miller Music
Courtesy of Kris Miller

Archival Material Provided by
Associated Press Images
Robert Balch
BBC Image Gallery (Getty Images)
Steve Capellini
CBS Evening News
Aaron Christ
The Denver Post (Getty Images)
Scott Hanley
“FYI Anasa Briggs” – KPBS San Diego
Getty Images
LIFE Picture Collection (Getty Images)
Tom McKnight III
National Film Board of Canada
NBC Universal Archives
Paris Match Archive (Getty Images)
Ted Patrick
Cheryl Prokosh
David Grossoehme
Radio Canada Acadie
Toronto Star (Getty Images)
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
WTCG – CH17, Atlanta Georgia

Special Thanks
Peter Wintonick

Mike Kropfeld – Info-Cult
The Stephen A. Kent and Gordon Drever Collection on Alternative Religions, housed within the University of Alberta Library system.
Steven Hassan- Freedom of Mind

IDFA Summer School
Janus Metz
Carman Cobos
Andrius Stonys
Kate Townsend
Marjoleine Boonstra
Yorinde Segal
Meike Statema

Don Haig Award
Joan Schafer
Bill Schultz


Steve North, Alan North, Tom McKnight III, Scott Hanley, Seth Kopchu, Lara Wahlberg, Diane Benscoter, Robert Balch, Gina Catena, David Clark, Joan Dunn, Jude Christ, Gary Christ, Anasa Briggs-Graves, Maureen Sajna Clarke, Nicolas S. Roy, Antonin Sorel, Richard Donovan, Charmian Douthwright, Eric Johanssen, Maureen Levitt, Guylaine Dionne, Eileen Barker, Dan Fefferman, Anuttama Dasa, Dr. Steve K. D. Eichel, Jan Rofekamp, Ron Mann, Gladys Gonzalez, Ruth Patrick, Ann Felcher, Kat Baulu, Mary Graziano & the NFB archives team, Rebecca West, Jim & Ellen Moore

© Copyright 2015
EyeSteel (Deprogrammed) Productions Inc.